Seismic Design Competition

The 20th Annual Undergraduate Seismic Design Competition (SDC) will take place alongside the EERI Annual Meeting in San Francisco. The SDC is a longstanding tradition at EERI's Annual Meetings and National Conferences. The competition provides civil engineering undergraduate students with an opportunity to work on a hands-on earthquake engineering project to design and construct a cost-effective frame building to resist seismic loading.

Organized by EERI’s Student Leadership Council (SLC), the SDC draws student teams from universities around the world. In this year’s competition, student teams have been tasked with designing a mixed-use structure featuring twin towers and multiple skybridges for development at a site in San Francisco. Teams are judged on their oral design presentation, their summary poster, the model’s architectural design, their ability to fit within the design criteria and constraints, their analytical prediction of their model performance, and the response of their model during shaking table testing. Their balsa wood models will be put to the test on Shaking Day, Thursday, April 14, which will be open to all meeting attendees.

For more information about the Seismic Design Competition, including rules, schedules, and updates visit the 2023 SDC page on the SLC website here.

Proposals have been accepted and teams invited to the competition from the following universities:

  • Ain Shams University
  • Altinbas University
  • Brigham Young University
  • Cal Poly Pomona
  • Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
  • California State University, Northridge
  • Cornell University
  • Helwan University
  • Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay
  • Istanbul Technical University
  • Izmir Katip Çelebi University
  • McMaster University
  • New York University
  • North Carolina State University
  • Oregon State University
  • Pontificia Universidad Católica Madre y Maestra
  • Purdue University
  • Seattle University
  • Technical University of Civil Engineering Bucharest
  • Technical University of Cluj-Napoca
  • The University of British Columbia
  • The University of Memphis
  • The University of Texas at Austin
  • Universidad de las Fuerzas Armadas
  • Universidad Iberoamericana
  • Universidad Politecnica Salesiana
  • Universitas Indonesia
  • University at Buffalo
  • University of California at Berkeley
  • University of California at Los Angeles
  • University of California at San Diego
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Nevada at Reno
  • University of Southern California
  • University of Toronto
  • University of Victoria

The 2023 Seismic Design Competition is sponsored by the following:


CSI LogoFEMA logo nobackground





CEA small logo



UCD GCM Degenkolb